The current mood of bluelucy at www.imood.com

24/12/2007 - 9:31 p.m. to 10:41 p.m.

Versary/"The Super Human Crew" and Bob Dylan


Monday

Two months and one day, or 9 weeks. That's how long I've been in love with Max. Just had to note that.

Now, I know I said I don't like talking about other things on versary entries, but I really have to get to this. I suppose it's okay if once in a while I say something on these sort of entries that isn't about Max. At any rate, I have to say about the presents I got from Mum and Wendy.
Mum got me a couple of great things, including a necklace she made and a Beatles poster. My favourite thing I got, though, was something Wendy got me: A book called "The Super Human Crew", with the images from James Ensor's "Christ's Entry into Brussels in 1889" and the words of "Desolation Row" from Bob Dylan. It is super awesome. The words and images play off each other so perfectly. It's way cool to me, whoever considered this idea, that they did, you know. It's great, the parallels between something that was created in 1889, and something created in 1965, both deal with the mockery modern life can sometimes be. Oh, and another super groovy thing, it comes with a CD of "Desolation Row"! Yeah. I know! Man, you know, Bob Dylan is a genius, I will tell you what. I've said before how I love metaphors, and Dylan uses them to an exquisite degree. His music seems so simplistic, too, little more than words, guitar, and harmonica, but the way he puts everything together, it just hits you, and moves you. "Desolation Row" is over eleven minutes long, but it seems like it's maybe five minutes long, at the most, with only a few simplistically yet beautifully played instruments, including his voice, and the superb use of actual words. Dylan really is brilliant, and the painting is incredible, as well. So, yeah, awesome book.

Getting - Better

Hit Counter


navigate
current
archive

contact
profile
notes
guestbook

friends
chsturtle
geeked-out
musesrealm
razor-vixen
sbbabe
suspiriagirl
sallydallydo
shadow-box vintagepearl
brokenhands
imatwin
littleamelie

credit
tweaks
design
diaryland

other
diaryrings