The current mood of bluelucy at www.imood.com

2006-10-18 - 9:21 p.m.

Too Much Compassion


Well, obviously I've been gone a while. Now that SG-1 is on hiatus, I don't have as much reason to make any entries. I do have a few things I want to talk about, but one thing in particular for this time. The matter of excessive anthropomorphism. Now, I am essentially vegan. I respect all creatures and will not eat anything I know feels any sort of pain or emotion, or take anything from any animal where I know it can result in cruelty and or undue stress. However, many vegetarians and vegans refuse to eat all animals, including small shellfish (shrimp, mussels, et cetera). They insist that these animals know they are going to die, and that they can feel when they are killed. Funny how something that lacks a brain (as most shell animals do) could possibly feel anything even remotely akin to something which could be considered discomfort. Even shrimp are so small that they have no time to feel anything before they die, and their brains are nowhere near complex enough to realise if they are going to be killed. People who don't eat these animals may as well not eat plants, because they sense about as much.

In the discussion which sparked this entry, someone also mentioned that meat eating "always leads to violence". Funny how some of the most peaceful persons in the world have eaten meat, and some of the most violent (if not the most violent) have been vegetarians. Animal abuse can lead to overall violence, certainly, but if someone eats meat and still respects animals, they are certainly not going to become a mass murderer or anything like that. I mean, Daniel eats meat for Heaven's sake (you knew I'd find a way to mention him)! I don't eat anything larger than a prawn (that is, anything that is big enough and has a complex enough nervous system to experience suffering at any point before it's dead) because I don't feel comfortable with the idea that these animals could have been mistreated, but if one figures they were not (which is certainly likely these days, given all the humane tretment laws in effect, I guess with me, it's a bit of a principle thing, and mainly I'd feel weird eating meat at this point), or doesn't really think about it, that certainly doesn't make them a bad person.

Bottom line: There are times when evidence, when science contradicts an idea, and perhaps those who do not agree with the scientific findings should reconsider whether they are simply being stubborn, and their thinking is outdated or misinformed.

Getting - Better

Hit Counter


navigate
current
archive

contact
profile
notes
guestbook

friends
chsturtle
geeked-out
musesrealm
razor-vixen
sbbabe
suspiriagirl
sallydallydo
shadow-box vintagepearl
brokenhands
imatwin
littleamelie

credit
tweaks
design
diaryland

other
diaryrings