The current mood of bluelucy at www.imood.com

Watching: Moral Orel (though it's really just playing in the background)

Thinking: God damned Simi haters!

Feeling: Pissed

2006-05-01 - 4:22 a.m.

Don't Fuck With My City!


Right. I was going to talk more about Gate Con in this entry, but I've just read something that made me very angry, and I need to address it. I thought this was over with, but there are apparently still some very close minded, stereotyping persons out there who make assumptions with no true experience in what they're speaking of.

I am referring to my hometown: Simi Valley. Ever since the Rodney King trial, outsiders have thought of Simi as this "lilly-white" "wasp" encompassed city. Get this, people; Simi was merely where the trial took place, there were even only a couple of people on the jury actually from Simi.
I have lived in Simi for fifteen years of my life, and in that time I can tell you I have made many friends of all different races, as well as mixed races, who also live in this fine city, and none of them have had any majour problems with any sort of racism. Look, there is a big difference between exclusion and what is known as a "melting pot". So you people who've never lived in Simi think that just because no one here really notices differences in races, that there are no "ethnic neighbourhoods" or whatever, that folks here choose friends based on true worth, rather than colour, we're somehow a "lilly white", even racist town? Yeah, that's logical.

Getting - Better

Hit Counter


navigate
current
archive

contact
profile
notes
guestbook

friends
chsturtle
geeked-out
musesrealm
razor-vixen
sbbabe
suspiriagirl
sallydallydo
shadow-box vintagepearl
brokenhands
imatwin
littleamelie

credit
tweaks
design
diaryland

other
diaryrings